Endangered Species Act

According to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), "the purpose of the ESA is to protect and recover imperiled species and the ecosystems upon which they depend. It is administered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) and the Commerce Department's National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS). The Service has primary responsibility for terrestrial and freshwater organisms, while the responsibilities of NMFS are mainly marine wildlife such as whales and anadromons fish such as salmon."

Under the ESA, species may be listed as either endangered or threatened. "Endangered" means a species is in danger of extinction throughout all or a significant portion of its range. "Threatened" means a species is likely to become endangered within the foreseeable future. All species of plants and animals, except pest insects, are eligible for listing as endangered or threatened. For the purposes of the ESA, Congress defined species to include subspecies, varieties, and, for vertebrates, distinct population segments.  View Course Fliers for additional Information. 

 Some Key Competencies: 

  • Protected Species Determination (Habitat)
  • Habitat Conservation Plans (HCP)
  • Impact Evaluation Assessment
  • Biological Surveys and Monitoring
  • Section 7 & 10 Permitting
  • Conservation and Mitigation Banking
  • Wildlife Research and Management